Renovation of the Hôtel Biron
Reopening November 12, 2015
Known as the Hotel Biron, the magnificent eighteenth century’s mansion welcomes the Musée Rodin since it opened in 1919. It took more than three years to restore it and meet the safety and accessibility standards. The floors, in particular, had enormously suffered from the 700,000 annual visitors.
This renovation was the opportunity to rethink the museum scenography. The new layout shows the collections of the museum in a new light, highlighting the artist’s creative process. On this occasion, many works in plaster, illustrating the genesis of the artist’s work, have been restored and brought out of storage.
The tour, both chronological and thematic, spreads across 18 rooms as well as a totally new space dedicated to graphic art and photographs. One room ( “Rodin at the Hôtel Biron”) will recreate the space as it was when the sculptor settled in the house in 1908. Its furniture has been restored for the occasion and this cabinet of curiosities displays works by Rodin himself but also elements of his collection of antiquities which he cared about a lot. This collection, little shown so far, is also exhibited in another room« Rodin and Antiquity». Over a hundred of ancient fragments will be displayed around the Walking Man, reflecting Rodin’s admiration of Antiquity and the diversity of his collection. The visitors will also discover fifty paintings from the artist’s collection in the room : Le Père Tanguy by Van Gogh, Le Penseur by Edward Munch, but also the newly restored Théâtre of Belleville by Eugène Carrière. The painting remained three years Centre de recherche et de restauration des musées de France and now regained its glow.
Thanks to the generosity of Iris & B. Gerald Cantor Foundation, the furniture has been specially designed to accommodate the sculptures in the renovated spaces. Farrow & Ball, also a sponsor of the museum, has specially created a new color, Biron Gray, to subtly showcase the works.